Volunteer Initial Training

Volunteer Initial Training is an extensive program that educates new CASA volunteers about the children and youth in foster care in Contra Costa County. It includes 36 hours of in-class instruction to ensure that our volunteers are able to provide quality advocacy to the children and youth we serve. 

Experts such as judges, lawyers, social workers, therapists and experienced CASA volunteers lead our training. Topics include the juvenile dependency system, juvenile rights, Children and Family Services, child development and trauma, educational advocacy, domestic violence and cultural sensitivity. Volunteers are provided with the tools they need to advocate for children and youth who have experienced abuse, neglect, and the trauma of being removed from their families. Our volunteers report that training is both an eye-opening and a personal growth experience.
 

 

SEPTEMBER - OCTOBER  DAY SESSION
Noon to 4 p.m.

OCTOBER - NOVEMBER NIGHT SESSION
6 p.m. to 10 p.m.
Tuesday, September 17 Tuesday, October 22
Thursday, September 19 Thursday, October 24
Tuesday, September 24 Tuesday, October 29
Thursday, September 26 Tuesday, November 5
Tuesday, October 1 Thursday, November 7
Thursday, October 3 Tuesday, November 12
Tuesday, October 8 Thursday, November 14
Thursday, October 10 Tuesday, November 19
Tuesday, October 15 Thursday, November 21

Schedules may change based on speaker availability

Before swearing in, applicants will also be required to:

  • attend a Dependency Court session
  • attend a Case Review session