Volunteer Initial Training

Volunteer Initial Training is an extensive program that educates new CASA volunteers about the children and youth in foster care in Contra Costa County. It includes 40 hours of in-class instruction to ensure that our volunteers are able to provide quality advocacy to the children and youth we serve. 

Experts such as judges, lawyers, social workers and school district personnel, therapists and experienced CASA volunteers lead our training. Topics include the juvenile dependency system, juvenile rights, Children and Family Services, child development and trauma, educational advocacy, domestic violence and cultural sensitivity. Volunteers are provided with the tools they need to advocate for children and youth who have experienced abuse, neglect, and the trauma of being removed from their families. Our volunteers report that training is both an eye-opening and a personal growth experience.
 

 

OCTOBER - NOVEMBER
6 p.m. to 10 p.m.

NOVEMBER
Noon to 4 p.m.

Tuesday, October 9 Tuesday, November 6
Thursday, October 11 Thursday, November 8
Tuesday, October 16 Friday, November 9
Thursday, October 18 Tuesday, November 13
Tuesday, October 23 Thursday, November 15
Thursday, October 25 Tuesday, November 27
Tuesday, October 30 Thursday, November 29
Thursday, November 1 Friday, November 30

Schedules may change based on speaker availability

Before swearing in, applicants will also be required to:

  • complete three self-study classes
  • attend a Dependency Court session
  • attend a Case Review session