Volunteer Initial Training

Volunteer Initial Training is an extensive program that educates new CASA volunteers about the children and youth in foster care in Contra Costa County. It includes 36 hours of in-class instruction to ensure that our volunteers are able to provide quality advocacy to the children and youth we serve. 

Experts such as judges, lawyers, social workers, therapists and experienced CASA volunteers lead our training. Topics include the juvenile dependency system, juvenile rights, Children and Family Services, child development and trauma, educational advocacy, domestic violence and cultural sensitivity. Volunteers are provided with the tools they need to advocate for children and youth who have experienced abuse, neglect, and the trauma of being removed from their families. Our volunteers report that training is both an eye-opening and a personal growth experience.
 

 
FEBRUARY - MARCH NIGHT SESSION
6 p.m. to 10 p.m.
MARCH - APRIL DAY SESSION
Noon to 4 p.m.
Tuesday, February 11 Thursday, March 19
Thursday, February 13 Tuesday, March 24
Tuesday, February 18 Thursday, March 26
Thursday, February 20 Tuesday, March 31
Tuesday, February 25 Thursday, April 2
Thursday, February 27 Tuesday, April 7
Tuesday, March 3 Thursday, April 9
Thursday, March 5 Tuesday, April 14
Tuesday, March 10 Thursday, April 16

Schedules may change based on speaker availability

Before swearing in, applicants will also be required to:

  • attend a Dependency Court session
  • attend a Case Review session