Speak up for Children - Make a Positive Difference

Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) volunteers are ordinary people doing extraordinary work for abused, neglected and abandoned children and youth in foster care. CASA volunteers are appointed by a juvenile court judge to advocate one-on-one providing a powerful voice for a child or youth during their uncertain journey in the foster care system.

CASA of Contra Costa County will provide you with the training you need to be a successful advocate. CASA volunteers share the willingness and ability to commit two years, and 15-20 hours a month, to a child or youth to make a difference.
 

STEP 1: Sign up for an Informational Session

CASA Informational Sessions will help you understand what it means to be a CASA volunteer. Attending an Informational Session is required before submitting your application. Sign up for an in-person or an online Informational Session. 

Sign up to attend IN-PERSON Informational Session Register below for a WEBINAR
Friday, December 14, 12:30 - 2 p.m., DVC-IEC Friday, December 21, 12:30 - 2 pm Register
Friday, January 4, 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m., Richmond Chamber Monday, January 14, 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. Register
Monday, January 7, 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m., DVC-IEC Saturday, January 19, 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. Register
Friday, January 11, 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m., DVC-IEC Friday, January 25, 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m., Register
Friday, January 18, 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m., Pittsburg Chamber Monday, January 28, 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. Register
Monday, January 21, 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m., DVC-IEC Friday, February 8, 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. Register
Friday, February 1, 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m., Richmond Chamber Monday, February 11, 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. Register
Monday, February 4, 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m., DVC-IEC Saturday, February 16, 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m. Register
Friday, February 15, 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m., Pittsburg Chamber Monday, February 25, 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m. Register
Friday, February 22, 12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m., DVC-IEC  


DVC-IEC, 2151 Salvio St., Ste. 299, Concord
Pittsburg Chamber of Commerce, 985 Railroad Ave, Pittsburg
Richmond Chamber of Commerce, 3925 Macdonald Ave., Richmond
CASA Office, 2151 Salvio St., Ste. 295, Concord
 

STEP 2: Excited to be a CASA volunteer?

To be scheduled for an interview, submit the following:
A copy of your driver license and automobile proof-of-insurance card

  • First, scan or photograph your license and insurance card.
  • Then upload them to our secure file system, email them to us, or fax them to 925-887-6770.

Application

  • The application will require 10 - 15 minutes of uninterrupted time to complete. 
  • Applicants must also respond to our essay question as part of the application process.

References

Three references are required. References may be co-workers, friends, neighbors, or others who have known you for at least two years. 
If you are currently employed, one of your references must be your employer. If you are currently in therapy, one of your references must be your therapist. Family members or intimate partners are not acceptable references.

  • When we receive your reference list, we will send them our reference questionnaire and notify you as we receive their confidential responses. 
     

STEP 3: You're Almost There

You've successfully completed the interview and screening process.
The next step is Volunteer Initial Training, which consists of 40 hours of classroom training, and an observational visit to juvenile court in session.

 

STEP 4: Start Advocating

Chose a child or youth. Our case management staff will help you review cases so that you can choose a child that is a good match for you. A trusting and positive volunteer-child relationship will be the foundation of your success.

 

 

 

Tax ID 94-2897531